LET GO ! ! !

house

(Audio or song below)

The words to this song say so much.

Perhaps you too have heard it said or even read the book ,  “Don’t sweat The Small Stuff and it’s all small stuff.”

Funny how it is the little things that build up and drive us nut but if you think about it it is also the little things, like whispering a prayer for help that become such a BIG help in the name of Jesus and the power of The Holy Spirit.

Sometimes it is as if the people who get under my skin, in my head and mind are so vivid and clear that it is just as if they were sitting in my living room at home while i am watching television.  I can hear their voice nagging me. Although they are not physically there they might as well be because my mind is so fixated on them,

the way they are,

and how i am trying to deal with them!

It is as if they (problems or people) are right there in the kitchen with me, in the car, in the shower.

Here is how i feel at times, just like AL and “his budget” keeping him up at night-

But it is not fingerhut.com that helps me rest easy and leave go of the things that nag me.

I am constantly needing the Lord to teach me how to deal with these thorns in my side.

When my mind is crowded with conversation with myself, other people who did something that gets under my skin, or my biggest pet peeve it makes me want to scream

STOP!

It is then i realize i have to put my mind on other things and the best place to put my mind is on Christ. This doesn’t happen automatically it is something i have to consciously and actively do. Memorizing scripture helps, some times i’ll go over a memory verse. Sometimes I will listen to someone delivering some good Biblical teaching on the radio or listen to some music that will help direct my mind in a different direction off of that person or situation that is trying to take up my mind space.

Here is a passage that is very helpful:

Phil. 4:6-9 Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. 7 Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.

8 Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious – the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse.
9 Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized. Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies.
I treasure that passage and have to constantly remind myself what I need to do in LETTING GOD help me LET GO.

I would encourage anyone reading this to also read Chris Stroker’s Blog post called  “With My Little Eye” . Although Chris and i have never met we are both involved with The Salvation Army and share the same Heavenly Father, Savior and Holy Spirit in our daily walk/lives and recognize the need to keep our eyes fixed on Jesus.

Amazing how when we fix our eyes on His brightness this world and all it’s hang up and false hope become slowly less painful and more and more dim.

14 thoughts on “LET GO ! ! !

  1. Pingback: Anxious much? | tombeetlebailey

  2. Pingback: My Acceptance Letter | tombeetlebailey

  3. Pingback: Kicking against the pricks | tombeetlebailey

  4. Pingback: Come apart before you fall apart | tombeetlebailey

  5. Pingback: How to stop kicking against the pricks | tombeetlebailey

  6. Pingback: New earth suit needed. | tombeetlebailey

  7. Pingback: Accept It (revisit) – tombeetlebailey

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.