Satisfaction Found In Reading The Bible 

Although it has been over 30 years since I graduated from High school and even longer since I was in 7th grade several tests show that I’m only able to read on a 7th grade reading level.

Many people have various learning disabilities and I am one who lives with dyslexia. I’m sure you’ve heard the joke (and if you haven’t you’re about to):

Did ya hear of the dyslexic atheist? He did’nt believe in a dog.


Aaaaaanyway, I say that just to get to my point. Although I have trouble reading I’ve found real satisfaction in reading The Bible.

This morning I looked at:

https://ymi.today/2017/01/do-you-read-your-bible-for-fun/
And this stuck out to me:

In the way of your testimonies I delight
as much as in all riches.
I will meditate on your precepts
and fix my eyes on your ways.
I will delight in your statutes;
I will not forget your word.

(Psalm 119:14-16, ESV, emphasis added)

The same sentiment can be found in verses 24, 35, 47, 70, 77, 92, 111, 143 and 174—you get the picture! This psalm was penned by a believer who recognized that the world around him was disappointing, treacherous and not as it should be, but that God’s Word was trustworthy, true and satisfying. And how much more so for us who are living after Old Testament times and can know Jesus, the fulfillment of God’s promises!

I personally can’t necessarily spread the fire to read God’s Word and get others to take Him at His Word but His Spirit sure can, He did it for me.

For Christ’s sake, beetle

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.